Loneliness

“Language…has created the word ‘loneliness’ to express the pain of being alone. And it has created the word ‘solitude’ to express the glory of being alone.”

Theologian, Paul Tillich

Tillich’s words above has planted an interest in beginning to investigate the meaning of  “being alone.” I realized that being alone in and of itself is neither positive nor negative. It was just a fact that now described a good portion of my life.

So, I went online to see what people treasured about solitude. This is what I have found…

“I love solitude because no one is making demands on me.”

“When I’m alone, my senses are sharpened and I feel part of the rhythm of the universe.

“Solitude refreshes my spirit.”

“I make my wisest decisions when I’m alone.”

These statements were inspiring but they didn’t replace the pain of loneliness for me

I turned to Allah for help. I worried so much about things that in the end are not in my control but to just leave it to Allah. I felt stuck like glue on the desire to return to a country that held so many wonderful experiences and people, but it was not written to happen. It’s the nature of  life as Allah is the best planner of our well being and we may not understand the wisdom behind such events .  As I seek Allah, I saw that if I could let go of that desire, I might be able to open my heart and mind to the possibility that I was not alone and that Allah has been the most glorious in my life.

I asked myself, “What might I treasure about being alone?”

Well, being alone heightens my powers of observation. I notice details around me that I’d otherwise ignore, like the play of sunlight on the ceiling or leaves floating in the air on a breezy day.

More importantly  to remember that its ok to be ALONE but when we feel LONELY Allah is always there, so I do need to connect with Him more.

Finally, when you are in bright light everyone will follow you but when you are in darkness even your own shadow will not follow you.

Leave a Reply

