Archive for October 21st, 2012

My Iman

Don’t lose hope, you never know what tomorrow will bring.

Allah has perfect timing, never early, never late. It takes a little patience and a lot of faith but it is always worth the wait. Alhamdulillah, I converted to Islam sometime ago and I have had m ups and downs, just like any Muslim. The biggest challenge has been that with those tests my iman also fluctuates. However, every time I read something about Islam things started to make sense to me. The information I read felt like something was pulling me closer and closer, as if you are going on an airplane somewhere far away and you are almost at the end of the trip and you are about to get off. I felt like I was being pulled towards that plane, not getting off, but jumping on.

Today, I strive to spread the message but it is not simple as not everyone is meant to accept Islam in their hearts. It is like comparing it to today’s public new broadcasts, there is actually so many opinions and facts that sometimes are not very favorable or well received. On the other hand, my iman is the only area in my life that I can hold steadfast to as I continue to strive in personal growth as a Muslim.

Islam, I believe, has saved me from the life I would have taken. Allah is so merciful and a lot of times we take this for granted. We need to realize that Allah is always with us no matter where we go and is so gracious!

I hope you too can get others to realize the beauty of Islam and how much happier they would be.

Loneliness

“Language…has created the word ‘loneliness’ to express the pain of being alone. And it has created the word ‘solitude’ to express the glory of being alone.”

Theologian, Paul Tillich

Tillich’s words above has planted an interest in beginning to investigate the meaning of  “being alone.” I realized that being alone in and of itself is neither positive nor negative. It was just a fact that now described a good portion of my life.

So, I went online to see what people treasured about solitude. This is what I have found…

“I love solitude because no one is making demands on me.”

“When I’m alone, my senses are sharpened and I feel part of the rhythm of the universe.

“Solitude refreshes my spirit.”

“I make my wisest decisions when I’m alone.”

These statements were inspiring but they didn’t replace the pain of loneliness for me

I turned to Allah for help. I worried so much about things that in the end are not in my control but to just leave it to Allah. I felt stuck like glue on the desire to return to a country that held so many wonderful experiences and people, but it was not written to happen. It’s the nature of  life as Allah is the best planner of our well being and we may not understand the wisdom behind such events .  As I seek Allah, I saw that if I could let go of that desire, I might be able to open my heart and mind to the possibility that I was not alone and that Allah has been the most glorious in my life.

I asked myself, “What might I treasure about being alone?”

Well, being alone heightens my powers of observation. I notice details around me that I’d otherwise ignore, like the play of sunlight on the ceiling or leaves floating in the air on a breezy day.

More importantly  to remember that its ok to be ALONE but when we feel LONELY Allah is always there, so I do need to connect with Him more.

Finally, when you are in bright light everyone will follow you but when you are in darkness even your own shadow will not follow you.

What is…

Eid al-Adha is an Islamic festival to commemorate the willingness of Ibrahim (also known as Abraham) to follow Allah’s (God’s) command to sacrifice his son Ishmael. Muslims around the world observe this event.

Because God spared Ishmael, substituting a sheep in his stead, Muslims commemorate this occasion by slaughtering an animal and distributing its meat among family, friends and the needy as a special act of charity for the occasion. Because of this, many poor Muslims are able to enjoy the unusual luxury of eating meat during the four days of the festival.

Eid al-Adha follows from the Hajj pilgrimage to Mecca in Saudi Arabia, in which Muslims are required to make at least once in their lives. Eid al-Adha is also known as the Feast of Sacrifice because it traditionally includes the sacrifice of an animal permitted for food (eg. a lamb) as an act of thanksgiving for God’s mercy. Some Muslims seek out a farm where they can carry out the sacrifice, but many also send money to their native lands to help fund a sacrifice. Eid al-Adha lasts for up to three days and is a time to seek mercy from God.

The feast re-enacts Ibrahim’s obedience by sacrificing a cow, goat, sheep or ram. The sacrifice symbolizes obedience to Allah and its distribution to others is an expression of generosity, one of the five pillars of Islam.

May we take benefit from these 10 days.

Ameen