Wealth of Blessings

)

“……Take what comes to you and give thanks.”(Quran 7:144)

How many things do we own, how much wealth do we possess, how many blessings do we enjoy, how many things do we have that bring us fullfillment?  Is it the beauty that surrounds us, is it the wealth that we have,  maybe our children, the shade that a tree provides us, possibly our home, the light we see, or the air we breathe, or  the water we drink?  Whatever we delight in, we should rejoice and give thanks as things could always be worse in our lives.

When morning comes, you are blessed as the sun is shining upon you.  It is shining on hundreds of hungry people, but you have plenty to eat; it shines on thousands of people who are imprisoned, but you are free. It shines on thousands of poeple who have been stricken with calamity and lost their children, but you are happy and healthy. How many tears flow down a woman’s face, how many mother’s hearts are filled with pain, but you are smiling and happy. So praise Allah,  for His kindness, protection and generosity.

Sit back and think, be honest and ask yourself,  Do I count the blessings that Allah has bestowed on me?

This was a question I once asked myself; however,  I came to the conclusion that even though  our lives are a continuous succession of Allah’s gifts there is wisdom behind our circumstances that we face each day. Allah has made it clear that we will never
be able to count all of His blessings upon us, since they are
innumerable.

The evidence is clear as follows.. “If you were to count Allah’s favors, you would not be able to number
them; most surely humanity is very unjust, very ungrateful.” [Sūrah Ibrāhīm: 34]

In this vast world of competitivenes and high tech, mass media and monotonous routines, I have fallen into a box where I felt trapped and insecure. I turned to feel bitter and ungrateful as I experienced health problems and really could not see this as a moment to reflect on that things could always be worse. I failed to praise Allah for empowering me to do that which others are
incapable of doing. Part of the thanks I owed Allah is to give something of whatever I  was blessed with to those who cannot do for themselves. I learned from that day on that I should remember that every blessing I  enjoy will inevitably come to an end.

Think about how many blessings surround you, whether it be around your family, friends, work,  the connections you have , even your hope and dreams.

Praise be to Allah, who possesses all things and who gives without measure.

Leave a Reply

