Getting the most out of a cup

Tea is a beverage that I usually don’t bother to prepare for myself unless I have company over. Coffee has always been my beverage of choice. Not only is tea recognized world wide for its variety of flavors or consumed globally but there are also health benefits to it. Of course, we know it is an antioxidant but I had no idea that it can also act to improve concentration, boosts energy, and also helps ward off diabetes and cancer. WHOA!!!!

Should I cut the morning coffee?

Honestly, it’s kinda hard becasue my cup sits on my desk at work and the aroma permeating out of   my colleague’s classoom down the hall makes it irresistible to not stop by and fill it up. Although coffee may initially give me a jolt, I was actually reading up on it that it can actually deplete vital energy later in the day that I didn’t have to begin with. Thus, coffee is actually allowing one to borrow energy.

Alternatives

Yes, herbal tea is actually healthier. On average, a cup of black tea contains about one third of the caffeine you would get from the same cup of coffee. Green tea contains about one sixth of that amount. Aside from this, tea is a zero-calorie beverage, making it the best choice for weight loss. What more can I ask for!!

I recall when I was growing up my mother would alsways have at hand Camomile tea leaves or sticks of cinnanom. However, I am sure the next time I am at the grocery store I won’t hesitate to read up on some more aromatic herbal teas.

I hope that we all reap the health benefits that tea has to offer!!

Insh’Allah, may we stay healthy and happy!

Any suggestions for a specific herbal tea bag of choice?

 

2 responses to this post.

  1. I love to drink green tea. I could not start a day without a cup of hot tea.

    Reply

  2. Posted by adikbongsu on April 19, 2008 at 12:30 pm

    Assalamu’alaikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuh,

    I stop drinking coffee at the age of 9 because it gave me gastric pain. I do drink tea but also rarely but it sure is nice to drink tea when it is about 80-70% hot 🙂

    Cold tea left overnight is also good as an antiseptic when you burn yourself or bruise yourself. Indeed the goodness of tea exceeded the goodness of coffee 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

