Curiosities challenge choices

“And We will surely test you with something of fear and hunger and loss of wealth and lives and fruits, but give glad tidings to the patient.”

The Holy Qur’an, Chapter 2, Verse 155

A friend once asked me, “What is it that you really, really, really want?” A question that can be defined by today, tomorrow or the future I asked. No, what is it that you really want. Is it happiness, is it more wealth, maybe to live a longer life ? I was not sure how to answer this question. I almost felt like I was taking a survey of my life and the choices that I had made. This question can mean so many things from an individual perspective I thought. This question was asked by my non-Muslim friend who seemed to really want for me to evaluate my life. Okay, I could do that but I thank Allah for everything past, present and future. An answer I could not find myself being able to simplify over a cup of coffee with my dear colleague. Okay, so I said to her, what really defines this question is that fact that I need to seperate what you are asking to how I live as a Muslim-a different state of mind. Being the broadminded person she is had no choice but not challenge me and so she gladly smiled and began conversing about her thought processing challenges in getting an affirmative answer that she was able to define what she really wanted.

We all have different points of view don’t we?

 Although I have been working a long way from home now, I can’t help but wonder how much societies change overtime but people pretty much stay the same in their own state of mind, whether circumastnaces change or not in their lives.  Always wanting more, needing more, planning for a future with a timeline that may be so unpredictable in the end. Thus, resulting in disappointments and questions of should I or could I have done this or that without being able to turn the hands of time back to those events.

The statement I once heard from a friend planning to go off to college many years ago was that a person should “plan while he/she can becasue you never know what could happen in the future.”  This statement had no bearance with the quality of life I wanted. Yes, we try to use critical thinking for the choices we make BUT there is one thing that I have lived while a long way from home and that is that people live according to their means. In a society where the “rich get richer and the poor get poorer” you can’t help but ask, “why, are people in such a state of  financial need but yet don’t complain about it or if they do well, there is no way of telling.

  As you drive away from the urban areas into rural places, you can see how much people care for their children as you watch them walk to the beach as a family for a day of fun carrying a basket of fruit or other delights. People still find the time to appreciate their families and time spent in simple lifestyle. On the flip side of this, you can’t help but wonder how do some people have the money to be driving around a Hummer.  Well, this is a changing world of always trying to keep up with the latest of this and that. Anyway, these are just a few of my curiosities that challenge the choices I make as a parent who wants to instill in my child that the very essence of life is not in the kind of clothes you wear or the kind of shoes you have but tin the actions of respect, responsibility, ethical and community minded individual that one hopes and aspires for each child to portray in their adulthood.  Islam is a complete way of life and their are choices that challenge us day in and day out but at the end the answer to what I really, really, really want is simlpe- to be thankful for the things that I have and the things that I don’t have.

Do you know what you really, really, really, want?

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by adikbongsu on April 15, 2008 at 12:24 pm

    Assalamu’alaikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuh,

    Masya’Allah …. great entry…i love this paragraph that says “As you drive away from the urban areas into rural places, you can see how much people care for their children as you watch them walk to the beach as a family for a day of fun carrying a basket of fruit or other delights. People still find the time to appreciate their families and time spent in simple lifestyle. ”

    Indeed different ppl will have different perspectives of what they want in their life, what makes them happy…. and you’re so so right….being thankful is the answer. 🙂

    jazakillahu khairan for writing this….

    Reply

  2. Peace be upon you,

    Curious, indeed. I agree with adikbongsu on that particular passage. Having moved from a large city to a small country hamlet, I’ve pondered these things quite much.

    On being different, we are certainly- if part of our humanity. People who try and force others to think like them will always fail. Wouldn’t it be utterly boring if we were all the same? Really, so boring. Let us try and understand the difference and find bridges for working together so that our children will live in world where their parents have time for them and would care about their upbringing and education rather than driving fancy cars or having posh homes.

    This is a personal opinion, but I want to be as close to fitra as possible, in this age were where have strayed so far and lost our humanity.

    Kind regards.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

