Concept of Friendships

images63.jpg 

We are always in need to socialize and in need for friends and companionship. Our lives are spent interacting with others. We are living in societies where as Muslims we may feel as the minority. Thus, the issue is always choosing the right friendships is essential in preserving our beliefs.  As a Muslimah I am always striving to befriend righteous and virtuous Muslims. Sometimes it can be difficult. Staying at a distance sometimes has been necessary, yet treating everybody in a noble and kind manner is a must.

Who are friends? Those who feel for you in the good and sad moments.

On the other side, a believer is the mirror of his brother”(5), and if he sees any faults in the other believer, he draws his attention to it, helps him to give it up and helps him wipe away any evil that he may have. Ibn Hazm said: Anyone who criticises you cares about your friendship. Anyone who makes light of your faults cares nothing about you.”

4 responses to this post.

  1. I have heard the same, but cannot remember where and from whom.
    I always used to think the opposite, but now after reading your post, Knew the correct and True thing. Thanks for writing it and opening my eyes ……… 🙂

    Reply

  2. So true! Though truth is a bitter pill to swallow. Some of us would rather be lied to than have our faults exposed to us. I know initially I fould it difficult to accept when my husband points out my faults to me, but now I know it’s becuase he loves me. I’ll admit, it’s not easy, but if one seeks genuine self-progress, one would have to learn to accept negative criticisms.

    Reply

  3. That is quite true. Friendship should be about brotherhood and sisterhood.

    Reply

  4. Mash’Allah excellent reminder.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

