Whole Fruits vs. Juice boxes

pdre0411921.jpg

Even though the weather has not changed yet, a glass of “fruit juice” is something I can not avoid drinking. However, I have recently started to pay more attention to the idea of what I am assuming that I am pouring into this glass is it healthy. I must admit that I can overindulge in drinking juice which is what motivated me to read up more on this topic.

According to a recent article published through the John Hopkins University, entitled “Does Juice Fit Into a Healthy Diet?” the following was something I had little knowledge about:

” Beware of terms like “fruit drink,” “fruit cocktail” or “fruit punch,” all of which may indicate it is not 100-percent juice and is loaded with artificial flavorings and extra sugar.

As for portion size, adults should drink no more than two cups (16 ounces) each day. This may vary depending on your age, body weight and gender, but it’s a good general guideline.

Although most adults need about two servings or cups of fruit per day, 100-percent fruit juice can count as one, or even two, of those servings. The problem arises when people drink more than this, and those extra calories turn into extra weight.

Children don’t need as much juice as adults. According to the American Academy of Pediatrics, 1- to 6-year-olds only need 4 to 6 ounces of juice per day, while those ages 7 to 18 years need only 8 to 12 ounces. Again, we’re talking 100-percent fruit juice. Even though obesity in children has often been linked to juice consumption, research has not found a link between consuming the recommended amounts of 100-percent juice and overweight in children.

Sounds pretty informative and to the point does it not? Well, first it is resolving to eat healthy and now fruit juices can also consume our choices of what we drink. I really aprreciated this article and found benefit to it as an adult.  The information provided does not discourage not to fit in juice to our diets but to simply watch our calories. The child intake of juice is something I always try to be aware about on how much and when.

I ususally prefer not make my own fruit juices becasue I will confess I hate to deal with cleaning up the blender. (just an excuse) However, I am going to try to better manage my juice intake and not overindulge. Eating whole fruits is also something that is easier to grab and eat while on the go and probably has more benefit to it than loading on the calories in different colorful yet artificial fruit drinks.

Moderation is the key

🙂

2 responses to this post.

  1. Assalaamu Alaikum warahmatullahi wabarakatuhu,

    Thanks for sharing sis! I had heard that before concerning the fruit punch, etc. You know, here in the US they sell 100% juice and even organic juices w/out sugar. I don’t know if that is something they offer where you live….

    Reply

  2. wa ‘alaykum as salamu wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuhu

    Alhamdulillah, this is a good step! I’m trying to eat more fruits because drinking juice for me is quite easy.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

