Seeking Inspiration

emitbig1.jpg 

The Prophet (salAllahu alayhi wasalam) said, ‘Take benefit of five before five: your youth before your old age, your health before your sickness, your wealth before your poverty, your free-time before your preoccupation, and your life before your death.’
[al-Hakim, al-Baihaqi]

We set out with promise and enthusiasm but as months go by our determination fizzles out. Our resoultions once again remain in the realm of good intentions until the next time something prompts us into introspection.

How do I avoid this? How can I convert my good intentions into consistent actions?

I do not dare say that I have all the answers but I can only say that I have learned through my struggles that good intentions and resolutions are about seeking inspiration in trying to live Islam daily.

Reading Quran and hadith are our support and inspiration. The hadith mentioned above was one that inspired me to take every minute of my day as living Islam. It has not been an easy road for me but I am trying. There may be days when I am busy with chores, especially work commitments and I have come to realize through this hadith that it does not mean that one does not have time to incorporate one’s resolution to live Islam daily. I am trying to read more hadith during my lunch break and even listening to Islamic lectures while driving to work or sitting at my desk writing out reports. Anyway, the list goes on. The bottom line is do what you can when you can.

May Allah give us steadfastness and may He give us the best in this world and the hereafter. Ameen

 

4 responses to this post.

  1. All today success has been a dream before. The only way to make thoughts real , is act right now. Not a min later, nor tomorrow..

    When a thought can fulfil that we “decide” ontime to do it and dont mix it with too many “if”s..

    I always admire you Ummabdurahman, for you strength in your Imaan and your married life. May all your thoughts come true insha’allah..

    Reply

  2. Posted by adikbongsu on November 2, 2007 at 9:31 am

    Assalamu’alaikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakahtu,

    I definitely have receive a lot of inspiration from your entries sister 🙂

    Jazakillah Khairan 🙂

    Reply

  3. You are right, The Hadith mentioned above surely inspires us to a lot.What a lovely hadith it is, and so very true.

    Reply

  4. Mash’Allah sis! That hadith is very inspiring. That’s so true, our resolutions often go unfulfilled. I really enjoyed reading how you fit time in for rememberance of Allah.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

