Responding to life

Today marks the 13th day of Ramadan for many around the world. Have I met the goals I set out to do? My lack of sleep has revealed to me a very long day at work, where I keep my performance of tasks in check but later I feel like taking a nap. Managing my time after breaking my fast has been important but just these few days ago that I have been feeling ill I have not been able to enjoy Ramadan. Attending Taraweeh was on the top of my list and I have targeted to attend a few. During the week after work, my day does not end. Coming home to cook, set the table and then sitting at the table to just wish those plates could disappear in an instant. I have tried to keep my son on a routine for school nights but it can be hard when you have visitors coming over. However, we have been able to keep up with our counting of links in the Ramadan chain we made together. It is important for me to make a big deal about the days we spend fasting and worshipping Allah and he has been able to relate to some things. On the other hand, entertaining during the week is not easy and will not be occuring as frequent as it has since the start of Ramadan. You just can’t resist turning down an invitation to iftar or f’tour as it is known here. Dinners can take late to prepare and you just can’t leave after breaking the fast. It is just not common courtsey to stay a few hours without having that special dinner. My Ramadan has been one of much to reflect on a religious level. I have tried to read some Quran at work but it just is not the place to ponder on its meaning. In the evening after clearing the table, putting my son to bed and looking at the clock to see that it is almost 10 p.m. and I still have not set out the clothes for the next day, my intention to get a few pages of Quran reading is still on the list. However, it never fails that once I begin to read the Quran my eyes began to seperate from the text and into a peaceful sleep.

My biggest disappointment has been not reading as much Quran during the week and finding myself during the weekend making up for all that I missed. Thus, I have reflected on these days as follow:

Sometimes Allah breaks our spirit to save our soul.
Sometimes Allah breaks our heart to make us whole.

Sometimes Allah allows pain so we can be stronger.

Sometimes Allah sends us failure so we can be humble.

Sometimes Allah allows illness so we can take better care of ourselves.

Sometimes Allah takes everything away from us so we can learn the value of everything He gave us.

Plan, but understand that we only live by Alllah’s grace…

 I hope that you are making the most out of your Ramadan.

🙂

5 responses to this post.

  1. Tell your Hubby to help you at home. It helps you so much. About reading Quran i have an idea.

    Join Circle of Unity, Quran Reading by Bloggers:

    http://shahrzaad.wordpress.com/circle-of-unity/

    We can finish Quran for several times and may God give us reward. 🙂
    If you can, inform others too..

    Reply

  2. Posted by UmAbdurrahman, "Blanca" on September 26, 2007 at 5:13 pm

    Yeah sis, he does help me out, Mash’Allah. I just feel so overwhelmed in the evening when guests come over. This will minimize, Insh’Allah. Especially, when you got children people are not really sensitive to schedules during Ramadan. I guess it is all cultural. You know what I mean. As a Westerner people’s mentalities are different as compared to people from other countries when it comes to saying no it just is down right offensive. We all learn something new and believe me these late night dinners when they do happen to occur during the week whether I am hosting or we get invited makes your pattern for sleeping so disruptive.
    Defintiely, I will check out your site on unity.
    Thanks for stopping by.
    🙂

    Reply

  3. Posted by adikbongsu on September 27, 2007 at 1:22 am

    Assalamu’laikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuh,

    No matter what dear sister, Allah knows your intention and I am sure Allah have been sending blessing to you for all the efforts that you put.

    My life is similar to yours, home and work and home…never ending plus I’ve 3 kids and 2 of them will be sitting for their exams in 3 weeks time. I too have not reach the target I set for myself this year but nevertheless, I keep on praying for Allah’s forgiveness and blessing because as you said it, perhaps :

    “Sometimes Allah breaks our spirit to save our soul.
    Sometimes Allah breaks our heart to make us whole.
    Sometimes Allah allows pain so we can be stronger.
    Sometimes Allah sends us failure so we can be humble.
    Sometimes Allah allows illness so we can take better care of ourselves.
    Sometimes Allah takes everything away from us so we can learn the value of everything He gave us.
    Plan, but understand that we only live by Alllah’s grace…”

    🙂 *hugs*

    Reply

  4. I can imagine what you say lol.. That’s eastern culture, they like to have breakfast together, suddenly many guests arrive. It is good to be with people, but better guests also help the host. Too many foods get prepared, and too many dishes and bla bla.. And almost more time that’s poor wife has to do all jobs.. It is bad.. Would be good all help each other. It makes more sincere atmosphere between guests and hosts.. They feel easy and relaxed.. Anyway The wife of house is not machine, she is human being.. Too much work makes her tired 🙂

    Reply

  5. beautiful last lines, mashaAllah

    Reply

Leave a Reply

