Bringing kids and youth closer

fasting1.gif

A good educational experience I would like to begin this Ramadan only becasue I feel like my son is at the age of some understanding is to involve him with as much as I can think of which will hopefully instill a stronger sense of why Ramadan is an important event.

I would like to try to get him engaged with cutting and glueing 30 colored paper chains and hang them somewhere at home. For each day, we will remove one until the end of Ramadan.

Finally, I would like to start a collection jar where I hope connections can be made with Ramadan being also a time for charity. To help a child understand and appreciate the act of giving, I would like to find a jar and we will decorate it with something.  Hopefully this will allow him to collect coins throughout Ramadan and have him count his coins and donate it to the mosque or someone needy.

This will be the first time I will attempt to do this.

If you have any additional, simple not hard but smarter activities for children where they can make connections with real life, I hope you can share them here.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by adikbongsu on September 13, 2007 at 1:09 pm

    Subhannallah…what a great idea sister 🙂

    For me, I give each of my girl a star for each day of fasting that they complete. As a further motivation, those who did well, a present will await them 🙂

    Thanks for sharing your idea, i like it! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

