Is there more to an apple a day?

0503080606331anappleaday6082_t1.jpg 

I enjoy apples with just about anything. However, is there more to uncover about this nutritional fruit. As a matter of fact as I went searching for new recipes that may include apples, I came across some intersting information regarding apple cider.

Apple cider is a non-alcoholic beverage. It is 100% all natural flavor. It is all a process from transporting the apples from the farm to the factory and then to our grocery shelves. I was reading that the apples are pressed and blended to create several varieties of rich flavored cider which will include that taste full of all the qualities of a natural apple. For a twist on the traditional cider flavor, the apples can also be blended with other unique flavors such as apple-cranberry, apple black-cherry or my favorite apple-rasberry to spice up any menu. However, I am not sure the caloric intake. All I know it is so delicious any time.  Thus, we stick to the traditional apple cider which is the drink that we like to have on the table next to the pitcher of water when we break our fast.

Do you have any additional or special beverages that you are accustomed to break your fast with?

Of course, the best is water.

 

 

4 responses to this post.

  1. Apple is very good. But i really dont like it.. I prefer Carrot 😉
    😛

    Reply

  2. I love apple cider. loool where I’m from it is nearly almost always spiked though. Unfortunate. But now, it’s not too hard to find it in grocery stores although, it doesn’t really taste the same as home made.

    I usually do as the Prophet said and break my fast with dates and milk or water. When dates are available. They’re not always easy to find here unless you go to a middle eastern market and then you will be paying double. Subhan’Allah. It really is the easiest on the stomach after fasting all day though.

    Reply

  3. Posted by adikbongsu on September 11, 2007 at 12:27 pm

    Salam ‘alaik,

    Masya-Allah….you make me want to drink it now!… 🙂

    For me, I normally break fast with hot tea and dates. Dates are easy to get over here, we even get it for free, alhamdulillah 🙂

    Reply

  4. Hmm… I’ll look out for it and try it. Though I’m sure I’ve drank it before… but I may be confusing it with something else.

    Here in Nigeria the local drink is called Fura. It’s more common in the nothern part of the country. It’s made from a kind of cereal called ‘gero’ and mixed with fresh yoghurt or milk and sugar. Very refreshing!

    Like Umm Yusuf I prefer dates and sweet juice. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

