Heading baaaaaaaack!!

poems1.jpg

Today, will be the first day of a new school year. As the days turned into weeks, and the weeks turned into months, we all look forward to yet another part of life- school. There is so much to expect and with a spark in their eyes and curious minds children will all share somethings in common with each other.

Heading back is easy for some but not for others. Giving up summer routines are difficult but one thing I am looking forward to are many fun activities that make learning meaningful without the competiveness.

Here is a poem that just makes me wonder  how children can feel about all the work they have dedicated to science projects and the end result can be devastating.

Science Unfair

I’m feeling so misunderstood,

mistreated, and harrassed.

For this week at the science fair

my project came in last.

 I toiled away for weeks and weeks,

and, yet, to my surprise,

I didn’t win a ribbon,

not a trophy nor a prize. 

The science fair’s the most unjust

of contests anywhere.

It may be scientific

but I still don’t think it’s fair.

–Kenn Nesbitt

Do you ever remember a school moment that left you feeling dishearted?   

 

3 responses to this post.

  1. Yes.. I never liked schools and even university. I mean academic. less teachers liked me, i was not big shaitan in school. َAt all. I just used to ask more thn normal. lol
    Anyway, now i am happy with who i was and i am.
    It was not a dishearted memory really. Was it? 😉

    Reply

  2. I used to hate going back to school , I always used to think I was dumb , and science ? WELL that wasnt always my subject especialy physics , it sucks !
    I was good at drama though 🙂
    now why is that no surprise ?

    Reply

  3. ahhhh I remember those days. Some kids thrive in school, love it even. My neice is one of those and my middle sister was one of those. For others however, working out the social order of third grade is challenging. looool.

    I remember losing a basketball game once in 5th grade. It was one of those day games that all the students come to watch and a couple of classes are canceled. So, losing in front of everyone was tough.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

