Just some Cat expressions

135964682_5ddbf58cdd1.jpg 

Our English language can be a bit complicated especially challenging to learn as well. These expressions, words, phrases can take the form of idioms. They are unusual grammatically. For example, “It’s raining cats and dogs!”

Does you language share something special with idioms?

If so, do you have a favorite idiom you prefer?

🙂 The following are just some of my favorite cat idioms. 🙂

when the cat’s away (the mice will play): used to say that people will not behave well when the person who has authority over them is not there

let the cat out of the bag: to tell someone a secret, especially without intending to

put/set the cat among the pigeons:  to do or say something that causes arguments, trouble etc

look like something the cat dragged/brought in:  to look very dirty or untidy

like a cat on a hot tin roof: so nervous or anxious that you cannot keep still or keep your attention on one thing

like the cat that ate the canary: very proud or pleased because of something you have achieved or got

7 responses to this post.

  1. Vaaaaaai, cheghad khoshgeleeeeeee 😛
    Sorry i got exited and turned to persian lol
    I love cats..
    But they are not loyal.. You know?

    Reply

  2. Posted by UmAbdurrahman, "Blanca" on September 2, 2007 at 1:37 pm

    Mash’Allah, I love cats as well. I am not a cat owner but my son has been trying to convince me. But that is another post another day. 😛
    Thanks for mixing some persian on the blog. I am taking this as a common expression for those who may or may not like cats.
    Translate girl??
    Loyal, I did not know that. You gotta inform me on this. I know that they could make good pets and clean too.
    Tell me something new that I must absolutely need to know if I ever survive my son’s pleading. I am trying to convince him to get a turtle.
    Thanks for stopping by.
    🙂

    Reply

  3. Translation:”Wawwwww, what a beautiful one”
    lol, what a cute son u have..
    Once i was sleeping at home, i hear door knocked.Open the door. Nobody there except a little baby cat lol
    After sometime the cat follow me every where he goes. smell my clothes and act such a lover. Every morning when i wake up, i see the cat licking my hand!
    anyway, i took him to somewhere very far from house and left her. After awhile, she came bk to house again. Again i closed her eyes by a fabric and took her to one of big gardens in Tehran. And she didnt come back,
    and i miss her..

    Cats are cute. But they are symbol of betrayal, disloyalty and hypocrisy. Yet I exactly dont know why they are famous for it.
    Anyway Birds are better. I read a hadith, (i dont remember where) that it is good to have bird at home, for it protects their owner from disasters..
    Buy 2 lovebirds for him.. 😉

    Reply

  4. everywhere i go* lol

    Reply

  5. heheh so cute!

    Reply

  6. Posted by adikbongsu on September 3, 2007 at 2:46 pm

    Salam ‘alaik,

    i agree with Umm Yusuf, it sooo cute, the picture and your entry… 🙂

    Reply

  7. I had no idea there were so many cat expressions!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

