Minimize

clock_home_bluehue1.jpg

  We either maximize or minimize our schedule of events around what we can or can not do within a certain amount of time. Our time is of essence whether it be working from our homes or having to commute to the place of employment.

The days turn into weeks and the weeks turn into months and so forth. This past week and those to come will have me juggling home, work, and family. Alhamdulillah.

Thus, I am in need to minimize my cooking time during the week. I am open to ideas to work smarter not harder.

My reflections are many and can be summed up-I have no cooking strategies and all I know is that I have no idea what I will be cooking for dinner when I take out the meat to thaw in the morning.  I just know dinner has to be cooked and I have to do it!

I need your creativity with minimizing my cooking preparation to under an hour. I dislike processed foods and if my vegetables are not going bad 😦  then I will cook them.

Are there any veggies out there that YOU may consider to be versatile with a cooking time to less than an hour and a half?

I am in need of some new pasta recipes and when it comes to meats it is all about chicken and beef.

I hope YOU can help me with creativity.

The following is just as simple it gets with me.

Yes, these are the favorite in my household and it is a good way to get a child involved with the preparation.

Recipe Ingredients

vegetable oil

1/2 cup of chopped onions

1 8 oz. can of tomato sauce

1/2 cup of water

2 tbsp of chili powder or (McCormick taco seasoning)

1tsp cumin

1/2 tsp. salt

1/2 pound of hamburger meat

12 taco shells or a pack of corn or flour tortillas

3/4 cups of shredded cheddar cheese

chopped lettuce, tomoatoes, avocadoes and olives.

Heat the oil over medium heat in a large skillet. Add the onion and cook for 1 to 2 minutes. Add the tomato sauce, water, chili powder, cumin and salt.
Bring to a boil, then reduce to a simmer and cook for 2 to 3 minutes. Stir in the beef  and cook until heated through. 
Place 1/4 cup of the taco filling in each taco shell. Top with 1 tablespoon of shredded cheddar, lettuce, tomatoes, and avocado. Serves 6.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Oh, i added some recipe ebooks to my Library:

    http://shahrzaad.wordpress.com/library/english/recipes/

    Check the link. Maybe it helps you.. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Posted by UmAbdurrahman, "Blanca" on September 1, 2007 at 7:48 am

    Okay, I will definitely check more on your link. I did read through the mediterranean diet. Intersting facts. Never imagined how balanced the eating was for the mediterranean people. Olive oil is an important source of cooking and eating it by itself.
    Thanks for sharing.

    🙂

    Reply

  3. It is also good link. Persian recipes. We use the foods for Ramadhan:
    http://www.anvari.org/iran/Persian_Food_Recipes/

    Reply

  4. asalam alaykum ! oh their is so many lovely vegetable recipes , I will email it to you inshallah , I had the same problem , meat , meat and more meat , so unhealthy , try switching to fish ? and minimize meat to twice a weak , ask allah to give you imagination to make vegetarian dishs , it healthier , isnhallah will email you some recipes 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

