The very young and restless

221-051.jpg 

Today as I was coming back from a full day of work the only thing I could look forward to was seeing my child’s precious little face looking back at me with adoration. My tiredness was gone as I opened the door and he immediately ran to show his affection with a hug around my waist. Next, the evening always begins with “mommy listen to this.” To sit and listen with such excitement to a child’s list of events that happened and to  observe all this bunch of energy that just never wears out is truly a change of state of mind as from when we spent a lot more time together during the summer. A summer fades away as I remember back how we  were able to engage in more one on one activities whether it be a day that was going well to a  possible upsetting day of heat and confinement to indoor activitites that left me with a need to escape.  There were those moments when I just wished  for some peace, some alone time but just with me and a good book.  My escape came in the form of a shower, pretending that I have some really urgent work and left my son with my husband, or just going to pick up my friend to go to the store and just going out with her for a bit. Granted, sometimes we have to make the best out of what we have. I guess.

Soon, he will be returning to school and the routine will change. The late bedtime stories, popcorn movies, online games, painting, cooking breakfast together and all the other outdoor visits to the beach, not to mention having ridden a pony for the first time have all become just a child’s memories. Not to mention a mother’s valuable time well spent laughing, crying, arguing, playing and most importantly reassuring that a child grows up with quality committment.

A mother is such a special role and as it was mentioned

 Narrated Abu Huraira: A man came to Allah’s Apostle and said, “O Allah’s Apostle! Who is more entitled to be treated with the best companionship by me?” The Prophet said, “Your mother.” The man said. “Who is next?” The Prophet said, “Your mother.” The man further said, “Who is next?” The Prophet said, “Your mother.” The man asked for the fourth time, “Who is next?” The Prophet said, “Your father. ”  (Book #73, Hadith #2)

Small escapes can be so rewarding if we allow them to be.

How do you get your little escape in the day?

8 responses to this post.

  1. I understand that it is difficult to rais children and work also. The moms who work outside, have less own time to be abit alone and recover their mind and energy. But they need the time. Even if just a moment.. Who dont make himself the best and dont love himself, can not give the best energy to beloveds.. Anyway being mom is great enjoyable experiance.. You do good job.. Good mom..
    Stay happy and energic and lovely 🙂

    Reply

  2. asalam alaykum , such a lovely entry , I do prety much what you do , my hubby takes my little girl out , to the park hes good like that , and i just want to say it is amazing when my little girl gives me a hug and says mumy ! , you feel what have I done on this earth to have you ? …you paint ? I used to do that , but now I dont have time to do that , but I was planning on my daughter when shes grows up to get her to paint inshallah , hooked on hobbies rather then the tv !
    oh yeah and also plenty of games ..ok enough said it is going to become an essay . 🙂

    Reply

  3. Posted by adikbongsu on August 31, 2007 at 12:10 pm

    Salam ‘alaik UmmAbdurrahman,

    I enjoyed reading your entry today, so real because it is much of what most working mother experience. I normally have my own time just by making sure my kids have things to entertain themselves, fortunately it is possible because I’ve got 3 of them and they like playing with each other 🙂

    Reply

  4. Mash’Allah sister, what a great post! how sweet!

    Reply

  5. Those are moments you look back and cherish. 🙂

    Hmm… I typically unwind by reading. Anything to get my intellectual engine in motion. It’s soothing and helps me think more clearly. I’m trying to enjoy my free time now before the children start coming insha Allah. I’ve heard tell of how not easy it is to make time for oneself once kids get in the picture.

    Reply

  6. By the way I love that hadith Sis. If only those who often pose rhetorical questions such as; If you, your wife and mother were drowning and you only had to save one person who would it be? knew who God has already answered the question.

    Islam clearly outlines who is most deserving of our love.

    Reply

  7. Posted by UmAbdurrahman, "Blanca" on August 31, 2007 at 9:08 pm

    As Salaamu Alaikum:

    Sis.. long time noooo see on the blog. Mash’Allah, I am happy you stopped by.
    Yes, you are right, Islam clearly outlines everything.

    Reply

  8. Wa ‘alaikum salam warahmatullah Sis

    I have been checking out your blog. Sometimes my connection doesn’t let me make comments… You know I always enjoy your entries anyday! Your perspectives are refreshing 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

