How long is the road?

847243_long_road1.jpg

I saw this picture and what came to my mind were many things. First, a road that is unmarked by traffic or pot holes, it is visible, yet isolated but must connect to somewhere at some point in time, solid yet expected to change ahead of the journey but most importantly not knowing where it will lead the traveler. There are no clues to where it would take me unless I have a map that provides me with direction. I would like to associate this picture of a long road to what my life with Islam has represented.  A road that has lead me somewhere with guidance but has turned to sometimes meeting a sign(s) which has caused me to read that road map again and not to loose track of my direction.

858949636_e82dbc62e5_m1.jpg

The road map is my Quran and the Hadith accompanied by the signs that I have met as tests and trials which by the grace of Allah can be overtaken with patience, belief, hope and reward if Allah wills.  My true goal: being consistent in seeking knowledge as it has been mentioned:

And the Messenger (PBUH) used to say, “O Allaah, benefit me with what you have taught me and teach me that which will benefit me and increase me in knowledge.” [Reported by at Tirmidhee (5/578) and Ibn Maajah (1/92). Also refer to Saheeh Ibn Maajah (1/47)].

In saying this, my road is the foundation I choose to take this knowlege and applying it. Thus, knowing that whatever I have gained has been for purpose of reviving my life and it is all beneficial as someday I will be held accountable for how I spent my time as a traveller in this world.

The Prophet Muhammad (peace be upon him) said: “If anyone travels on a road in search of
knowledge, God will cause him to travel on one of the roads of Paradise.”

Sunan of Abu Dawood, Hadith 1631

Allah is my guide and I am just the passenger who has no control over events that have happened, will happen or can happen on this long stretch of road called -LIFE.

Leave a Reply

