H two O

0408140606441mood_indigo_t1.jpg

 We send down pure water from the sky. That with it We may give life to a dead land, and slake the thirst of things We have created,- cattle and men in great numbers.

(Surat al-Furqan, 48- 49)

A liquid droplet falls from the sky and the meteorologist has predicted rain through the study of air pressure and cloud formations. Rain in itself is highly beneficial and life-giving. If the ground is fertile, the beneficial effect is manifested in the luxurious growth.  Therefore, the Quran has always influenced and still influences our view of the place we occupy within the ecosystem.

Everything in the Quran celebrates and declares His praise.

Behold! In the creation of the heavens and the earth; in the alternation of the night and the day; in the sailing of the ships through the ocean for the profit of mankind; in the rain which Allah sends down from the skies and the life which He gives therewith to an earth that is dead; in the beasts of all kinds that He scatters through the earth; in the change of the winds and the clouds which they trail like their slaves between the sky and the earth; (here) indeed are signs for a people that are wise.[14]

Indeed water is a source of life. The rivers, lakes, oceans, are all of benefit to man, creatures and vegetation.

Finally, a beautiful hadith I found that made connections with rain and knowledge.

It is narrated by Abu Musa that the Prophet (SAW) said, “The example of guidance and knowledge with which Allah has sent me is like abundant rain falling on the earth, some of which was fertile soil that absorbed rain-water and brought forth vegetation and grass in abundance. (And) another portion of it was hard and held the rain- water and Allah benefited the people with it and they utilized it for drinking, (making their animals drink from it) and to irrigate the land for cultivation. (And) a portion of it was barren which could neither hold the water nor bring forth vegetation (then the land was of no benefit). The first is the example of the person who comprehends Allah’s Religion and gets benefit from the knowledge which Allah has revealed through me and learns and then teaches it to others. The (last example is that of a) person who does not care for it and does not take Allah’s Guidance revealed through me (He is like the barren land.)” (Bukhari).

I tend to go through days and weeks as if I am blindfolded. Unless I really concentrate, but too busy to notice anything around me. However, lately with my son we have taken the time to observe and wonder all the variety of Allah’s creations. Listening to the birds and the amazing variety of their sounds—from the soft cooing of doves to the varied tunes of a mockingbird, the raucous harmony of a tree filled with song birds, as they glorify Allah in their own way. Smell the land after a rain. Feel the textures of the bark of a tree and the petals of a flower, or the soft fur of a puppy or kitten. Taste an apple or just get our fingers in the dirt by planting seeds.

We try to remember that Allah didn’t have to create such a wondrous variety of gifts for our senses. We could all survive with water, one kind of food and air to breathe. Imagine how dull our lives would be.  It’s important to take every opportunity to thank Him for these blessings of infinite variety.

The knowledge I have gained by reading and writing in this blog has helped me recieve more ideas and connections to reflect. Thank you for visiting and giving me your input as it has been really a chain of connections for me to fall back and learn from.

If you count God’s blessings, you cannot possibly encompass them. (16:18)

2 responses to this post.

  1. Waw, I enjoyed reading this post. Nature is my love, full of amazing details that make me think. I know i will give this love for nature to my future children too. The best way to know philosophy of creation…
    Today i can feel cool nice breeze from your blog that shakes my hair..Nice Fragrance of heaven..
    I like it… 🙂

    P.S 1: You saw what i wrote in my comments for your name?
    P.S 2: Ah, i made a page for art in my blog. I know it has harmony with your nice mind. Have a look to the page:”Art in my Land” 😉

    Reply

  2. You have a really nice blog here. Thanks for stopping by my site and as soon as I get the quilt done, I’ll post pictures. Check in often as hopefully I’ll be able to post the work in progress.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

