Filling in the blanks

48864162_47e34498db1.jpg 

“Oh you who believe! Seek help with patience and perseverance and prayer; for Allah is with those who patiently persevere. Be sure we shall test you with something of fear and hunger, some loss of goods or lives or fruits (of your toil), but give glad tidings to those who patiently persevere, who say, when afflicted with calamity: To Allah we belong and to Him is our return. They are those whom (descend) blessings from Allah, mercy, and they are the ones that recieve guidance.” (2: 153-157)

If I did this_____________maybe it would not had happened.

I hope I dont have to deal with this___________.

The would’ve and the could’ves of trying to fill the blanks of uncertainties.

It is a fact of life that I will deal with harships and tests. It is a fact of life that I will be impatient. It is also a fact of life that my fears can come and go. It is also a fact of life that I will have good and bad times.  My difficulties have been from minor to major disappointments.

The hardest thing to do is to demonstrate strength through it all.

How can I convert my life’s obstcales into a stepping stone of finding a peace of mind?

Have I accepted the mindset that life is a test and that I am in a continous struggle for self-mastery?

I fast every Ramadan, pray, read the Quran and listen to lectures that are encouraging and a remembrance of  how I should pursue to live my life.

Yet, the tests keep coming. However, one evening as I was sitting in my living room after magreb I opened the Quran and read Surah Al Talaq:

“And those who fear Allah, He always prepares a way out. And He provides for them from sources they could never imagine. And if anyone puts their trust in Allah, sufficent is Allah for them.”

Many people during the days of the Prophet Muhammad (PBUH) were tested in their faith is what came to my mind after I read this verse in the Quran.

My Final Thoughts

images1.jpg

My faith has been tried and tested today.

Allah will handle my burdens while I need to let it go and have faith that I should find complete reliance on what Allah has prepared for me.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by confusedaboutlife on August 6, 2007 at 3:42 pm

    asalam alaykum , I undertsand how your feeling , infact till this day I contemplate this I just want to understand why things are the way they are because they are get over it !? I keep telling myself sometimes I think will I ever understand . turn to Allah ask him verything ..tell him everything inshallah the pain in your heart will ease .

    Reply

  2. Just remember after every hardship comes ease. Allah has promised in the Qur’an that no person will have a burden greater than he/she can bear and that Allah will make a way out for Believers. 😀

    May Allah improve your situation and give you the strength, patience and certainty of faith to make it through your tests and trials. ameen.

    Reply

  3. As Salaamu Alaikum Umm Yusuf:

    Yes, our trials in life can be like that. I wanted to write this as a reminder that all that is good and bad come from Allah.

    Thank you for your input

    May Allah reward you

    Reply

  4. Subhanallah filling in the blanks I think we can all relate to that…and this was a great reminder of how we have to catch ourselves before going through the “What if’s” Life is hard and nothing more than a big test and harder some days than others. One thing I like to remember that keeps me going is that when I go through a tough test is that maybe its because my faith has increased and that gives me motivation to stick it out as they say. And knowing that inshallah relief is close by and around the corner. Hugs 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

