Health and Mental Benefits

zeytinyagi21.jpg

 This summer I made  a commitment that every new month would be a different topic that focused on building my understanding of Islam. Thus, so far I will always have this committment each new month becasue it has not been easy to memorize all the hadiths I have read so far. However, I have found the benefit of taking what I have read and remembering that I could look for it again and of course by writing down the ones that have inspired me which are now taped by my desk.

Just the other day, I came across the following verse in the Quran:

And by it He makes crops grow for you and olives and dates and grapes and fruit of every kind. There is certainly a Sign in that
for people who reflect.
(Qur’an, 16:11)

For someone who does not read or write the Arabic language, I decided to explore more on the scientific miracles of the Quran. Wow, Alhamdulillah there were so many things that I had heard people talk about when it comes to medical cures and certain foods. However,  I did not ask or understand the source it had been derived from to be convinced that I should eat honey or get into the practice of consuming as much olive oil as I can either for cooking  or dipping bread into it. All that sounds good but there must be more wisdom than just giving me suggestions to the many aspects of seeking a health advantage.

For example, one of the foods to which attention is drawn in the Qur’an is the olive. Research has revealed that the olive is not just a delicious food but also represents an important source of good health. In addition to the olive itself, olive oil is also an important source of nutrition. Attention is drawn to the oil of the olive tree in the following verse in the Quran:

Allah is the Light of the heavens and the earth. The metaphor of His Light is that of a niche in which is a lamp, the lamp inside a glass, the glass like a brilliant star, lit from a blessed tree, an olive, neither of the east nor of the west, its oil all but giving off light even if no fire touches it. Light upon Light. Allah guides to His Light whoever He wills and Allah makes metaphors for mankind and Allah has knowledge of all things. (Qur’an, 24:35)

Olive oil  is one of the most highly recommended types of oil by all experts, especially for coronary and arterial health. The following link was helpful as well when in explaining more of the benefits of this fine liquid. It also gave me some insight to all the different olive oils that are sitting on those shelves that have me from choosing one over the other. Is it price, quality, quantity? I was not sure until the article broke down the spectrum of olive oils from pure-extra virgin. This article helped clarify how to choose my next bottle of olive oil.

http://www.betterhealth.vic.gov.au/bhcv2/bhcarticles.nsf/pages/Olive_oil?OpenDocument

Overall, the Quran is by far a book of much wisdom and revelations that comprise all of what Allah has sent down for our mental, emotional and health benefit.

Insh’Allah, I have thought of the next months “focus” and that is to continue exploring more on health through the Quran.

Good health to you and your family.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 responses to this post.

  1. Aaaah. Olive oil. Thanx for sharing this. My husband likes eating oil and I’ve been searching for healthier alternatives pending when he’ll see the light and realize it’s bad for his health. I thought of olive oil, but I’m not sure if the taste will go down well.

    Allah is great. And a lot of things being discoverd by modern science have been pointed out by the Qur’an or by the Rasul (peace be upon him) centuries ago. Like the importance of breastfeeding and that cleaning up with water after using the toilet is healthier than tissue paper. I always snicker when I see a new research confirming this things.. then I silently say, Alhamdulilah, thank God I’m a Muslim.

    Reply

  2. Mashallah amazing you will never believe me when I tell you this LOL hehehe… I was just reading yesterday about the benefits of olive oil from an Islamic perspective and was gonna post about it LOL beat me to it Chika Alhamdulilah…. so I decided to post on something else. Anyway this is so amazing the benefits of olive oil that now many scientists are discovering new things about which was known over 1400 yrs ago Mashallah… Allah Akbar… Our religion is so complete. Jazak Allah Khairan sis for posting this its remarkable!!!!
    Muchos Abrazos 😉 xoxo

    Reply

  3. Jazak Allahu Khairan sis Blanca!

    Excellent post. The link really helped me out too. 🙂

    Reply

  4. Posted by adikbongsu on July 27, 2007 at 4:33 am

    Alhamdulillah…more knowledge gain everyday…..

    Jazakillah ya ukhti! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

