The life and day of a new event

data11.jpg 

As I sit here and type, I never realized that  getting the flow of thoughts on the screen has helped me discover how helpful it has been to express what I have found to be just simply an exchange of information. Anyway, we are half way through 2007 and as I glance over to my calendar, to see how many more weeks are left of this extended holiday before I return back to work I can’t help but to as well notice that Ramadan is yet another moment that we will be anxiously awaiting to embrace,  Insh’Allah.

You who believe! Fasting is prescribed for you, as it was prescribed for those before you – so that hopefully, you will fear [and respect] Allah.
(Surat al-Baqara: 183)

My first Ramadan was something I experienced a very long time ago and it was not easy. Fasting for the whole month, prayer, being watchful of the time, not thinking of food, rushing to beat traffic after work,  stopping at the store after work, impatiently waiting to pay my purchases to now having to face all that traffic across town to just begin cooking, and the list goes on.

Man, that was then and this is now. My thoughts of why it was so difficult was due to being my first experience with no one to guide me every step of the way. There were times that I wanted to break my fast becasue I was not used to the idea of abstaining from the basic necessaties that sustain our every day life for the entire day. I strongly feel now that every Ramadan in its passing has left something new to learn. Each Ramadan has made me feel more excited for the day to fast. Each Ramadan has given me an opportunity to focus on its importance, benefit and enjoyment. Yes, a jubilant month.  Overall, Ramadan is a once in a life time yearly event that has given me the feeling that I am not fasting alone. This year as we draw nearer to this grand event in every Muslims’ homelife from all corners of the world,  I offer my best wishes on this splendid occasion and sincerely hope that this coming holy month will bring plenty, well being and particularly peace to all believers. So many Muslims, in Palestine, Kashmir, Iraq, and other countries are entering this month to the accompaniment of violence, conflict and war. The sole desire of these innocent people caught in the ravages of poverty, hunger and disease is to be able to live by their religion, in an atmosphere of peace and stability, and to live their lives without such oppressions.

“Do not envy one another, do not hate one another, do not turn your back on one another (in discontent), and be the servants of Allah like brothers. ” (Bukhari, Muslim)

 

 

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by adikbongsu on July 25, 2007 at 3:36 am

    Assalamu’alaikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuh,

    indeed its just another 2 more months and Ramadan will be upon us. I can’t wait for it. Every year I hope I can meet Ramadan and every year I hope my Ramadan is better than last years.

    May we have a fruitful Ramadan this year, Insya-Allah. Ameen.

    Reply

  2. I love that hadith you quoted. It’s words like that I think of when people ask me why I bother about Iraq and Palestine when we alread have enough problems in our own country. I tell them Islam is not just a personal religion, we are one, all of us.

    Ramadan is not easy… even for those who have always been Muslims. It took time, maturity and knowledge of the religion for me to let go of all the attachments and really enjoy it. I still remember sneaking to the fridge to steal gulps of water when I was younger, hehe… 😉

    It’s a wonderful month… every year I anticipate it. When it starts I’m all pumped up… towards the middle fatigue starts to set in and toward the end, especially on the last ten days, the excitement is renewed again. I love the roller coaster!

    Ma Salam.

    Reply

  3. Ramadhan, month of cleaning soul, time of turning bk to God.. Every year we appriciate it. But Do we keep the lessons and conclusions in mind or we forget untill next ramadhan?
    I like your blog.You know? You express your feeling very good. I like to know opinion of muslims about universal Islam, unity between muslims, islamic sciences and philosophy and etc also.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

