Sights and Sounds

Beach-Waves 

The promising weather was an opportunity of getting out and enjoying some different scenary. The ocean view, a barge from a distant, children’s laughters and tantrums, people walking, playing, running, fishing  and some unnecessary littering were just some of the things I observed. Personally, I have always enjoyed an occasional visit to the beach as a means of pulling myself away from the daily routines.  Looking beyond all of what or who I saw, my main attraction has always been the nature that surrounds the eye.  The ocean waves, the birds flying over our heads looking for the first piece of morsel to carry back with them, the rocks, sand, and especially the occasional seashells or seaweed that may have gotten washed onto shore are all taken in with a breath of life.

Before I converted to Islam I would take things for granted and not appreciate my surroundings as someting that Allah has created for us to take care and enjoy. I was never satisfied with just something becasue there was always something more I had to have or wanted but really did not need. Today, the simple natural surroundings of a beach were just a reflection of how much I have learned to grow in this religion to really understand a connection from what I have read in the Quran to why it has been written for me to remember. 

For example, the birds are an amazing creation. Unlike us, who can walk or drive to a store and buy what we need or open the refrigerator to fulfill our appetites.  I really never thought that the Quran would detail a bird’s survivial and existence as I have read in the following verses in the Quran.

Do they not look at the birds, held poised in the midst of  (the air and ) the sky? Nothing holds them up but (the power of) Allah. Verily in this are signs for those who believe.  (An-Nahl, Chapter 16, Verse 79)

Seest thou not that it is Allah Whose praises all beings in the heavens and on earth do celebrate, and the birds, (of the air) with wings outspread? Each one knows its own (mode of) prayer and praise. And Allah knows well all that they do. (An-Noor, Chapter 24, Verse 41)

Do they not observe the birds above them, spreading their wings and folding them in? None can uphold them except ((Allah)) Most Gracious: Truly ((Allah)) Most Gracious: Truly it is He that watches over all things.  (Al Mulk, Chapter 67, Verse 19)

Hadiths located in Sahih Muslim

Jabir (Allah be pleased with him) reported Allah’s Messenger (may peace be upon him) as saying: Never a Muslim plants a tree, but he has the reward of charity for him, for what is eaten out of that is charity; what is stolen out of that, what the beasts eat out of that, what the birds eat out of that is charity for him. (In short) none incurs a los! k to him but it becomes a charity on his part.  (Book #010, Hadith 3764)

And I am sure there has many more mentioned but the one I have heard but could not locate was the one on feeding birds where they go out in the morning looking for food and return full at the end of the day. If you know of this reference please point it out. 

Overall, our appreciation for the many things that our sight is attracted to all have a purpose for its creation. I have learned through this experience that everything belongs to Allah and that we should be grateful for even the most simplest things.



 

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by adikbongsu on July 23, 2007 at 1:27 pm

    Assalamu’alaikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakahtu sis,

    indeed we always take for granted, our family, our surroundings etc. and now i hope we are not too late to save the environment which is in jeopardy due to our own deeds 😦

    yes, Al-Quran encompass every living things and non-living things, besides the birds, the knowledge of volcano and even atoms are beautiful describe.

    Subhanallah…..

    Reply

  2. You write beautifully… I wonder how you could ever be inspiration-less. And you’ve been blogging for just a month, you say… yet your reads like someone who is adept at it. I promised to be back and here I am.. though then I was KS now I’m Bubbles… saw your comment on my blog. Actually I’ve been checking up on your blog a lot, but there has been something wrong with my connection… it was terribly slow I couldn’t leave a comment. Jazakallah, 🙂

    About this post… I have always marveled about the birds. Ever since I read that it is Allah that keeps them afloat, a lot of things began to amuse me… and I thought about them. Like for instance “not a leave doth fall without His knowing about it”. Knowing that you cannot even begin to encompass the knowledge and Greatness of Allah when you think of all the leaves that fall during autumm. And not a single one falls without His commanding it to do so. Allah Is Great. And if we reflect on His creations we will appreciate more the things we’re blessed with.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

