Defining Moments

I529254017_4b9bd9e07d1.jpg

In our lives, we have all had those moments whether positive or negative which have defined and redefined our lives. Such events that have been registered in our conscious have changed who and what we thought we were. What is a defining moment?  Have these moments reshaped me? I have evaluated and reflected some of my moments and asked  what, when, where and why.

For example, I remember a positive moment when I was in seventh grade as I participated in a solo and ensemble orchestra competiton. I was going to take part in performing a solo on my violin. I was nervous but tried to concentrate the best I could. The judges sitting behind the table would stare and  write while I stood playing behind my musical stand with my instrument and visualized all that practice I had spent the entire time preparing for just this moment.  At the end, I was called by the judges for the final results on the different categories of music. I was so shocked that I recieved a nomination for a medal. The comments and suggestions from the judges were something I took so seriously because from that moment on, I remembered that if I worked hard and persevered that people would recognize this quality and value those efforts.

Today, as I look back at so much that has happened I can say that life can be unpredictable.  Life is a collection of time. Defining moments have stood out for me and I ask what is happening now that makes this moment so significant. Obstacles have been present many times in our lives, but it is the attitude towards these challenges that can be taken as tests of strength, patience, faith and hope. We can read all the books that are assigned, selected or recommended for personal growth, business or pleasure but the one defining moment for all of us is when we stand before our judge; Allah (swt) and recieve our evaluation for all of those defining moments be it positive or negative.

“We shall set up scales of justice for the Day of Judgement, so that not a soul will be dealt with unjustly in the least, and if there be (no more than) the weight of a mustard seed, We will bring it (to account) and enough are We to take account.” (Al-Anbiya, Chapter #21, verse #47) 

2 responses to this post.

  1. Wawwwwwwwwwwwwwwww, i wanna bite that little foooooooooooot, oh i want that baby plz.. lol
    The foto you chose made me so surprised. ok i behave now 😛
    you are right that life is unpredictable. But I add that he is the person who makes a moment good or bad. People used to link every bad event to God and every good event to own. And they forget they were who did wrong and took wrong result..

    Reply

  2. I’ve had several of those… defining moments. They were moments when I wished I could switch into reverse gear, go to the past and redo some of the things I did in the past. But Alhamdulilah.. thats why we have Taubah… Allah knows best, but it is also during these moments I believe my repentance is most sincere.

    PS. ever had someone take from your writing something entirely different from what you had intially set out to write about? I am just thinking perhaps we all have different notions of what a defining moment is though the underlying philosophy is the same, in that it instigates change for the better.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

