Choices

 Guiding Light

Making a choice to do something means making a choice to not do something else.  Choice. Why is it not that easy? I have been reading a book about children and unconditional parenting. Choice. I am supposed to start an online class this fall. Choice. Sometimes I find it hard to decide what I am going to cook for lunch. How am I going to decide what to do with the rest of my life? Sometimes our choices get so polarized. Everything is right or wrong, left or right, even black or white. I find it difficult to make choices because I forget to look for alternatives.  It is those big life changing choices. What would have happened if I would have selected to take online classes over attending on campus classes for 4 hours.  Where would I be? Will I make the right choice? My conclusion: both paths will create a version of how I want to live my life every day. I have always heard that ” you cannot have your cake and eat it too.” You have to give up someting to get, what you really want, in my case to move in order to find a peace of mind that what I want to achieve is something that will improve an aspect of my life. Lately, I have been wondering about all those choices that I have made on a whim. I believe that one should make choices when you have to and wholeheartedly should trust these choices with what Allah would like for me or dislike for me. In this life everything we have is a bounty from Allah.

So, what about the Islamic concept of qadar, the doctrine of Allah’s complete and final control over the fulfillment of events or destiny? How does one balance the idea of Allah knowing absolutely everything with the idea of free will? If Allah knows in advance everything that will happen, then surely a person’s life must be entirely predestined. 

My Final Thoughts 

True happiness is to look after that which Allah has loaned us and entrusted to our safe keeping for such a brief time- our families, our bodies, our talents and most of all our sensitivity toward others.

Truly, God does not change the condition of a people until they change what is in themselves. (Surat Ar-Ra’d 13:11) 

May Allah guide all our choices.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by adikbongsu on July 20, 2007 at 8:07 am

    Assalamu’alaikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakahtu,

    my 1st visit to your site sister. 🙂
    Wonderful blog you have here.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

