Expect the Unexpected

      

                                                 http://rochesterturning.com/category/monroe-county-executive/

About 12 hours ago, as I was sitting in front of my computer, I noticed that it started to flicker and I saw a battery symbol at the bottom of the screen. I am not “tech savy” and  so I decided to check the plugs and everything seemed to be intact. I wonder why it started doing this in the middle of what I was just beginning to read.  I stopped and noticed that this same battery symbol was indicating a percentage and I was getting a little worried. Was there a recall of some sort which we may have overlooked? So, I continued to read on a little bit more until I  heard my son in the background waking up. Ok, so my day has now started!!!  As I walked into the kitchen to get my coffee going and his breakfast started, I noticed that nothing came on. OH, now I understand…. the electricity has been cut off. I checked to see if there was any construction going on….nothing in sight..I checked the circuit box just in case a switch had shut off….nothing, then I decided to call my husband. Well, we had forgotten to pay the utility bill. He says, no problem I will get down there during lunch time. I hang up and  take a deep sigh of relief. However, my day was not going to be the same. No television, washing machine, refirgerator, stove, not to mention my coffee pot would take a break today. My son could not understand that our power was out. “What is power mommy?” Is it like “Power Rangers” No, it is something that we need to help us cook, watch t.v., wash our clothes, etc. Children have no concept of time and this would be my big test for the day. What was I expecting to do? Alhamdulillah, this day was an experience of patience and for certain a change of thoughts. For one, as an adult we understand that our basic needs are so important to depend on and our reliance is what keeps us functioning. However,  for a child their needs are even greater. The thought of trying to explain to him that his morning cartoons were not going to start soon on t.v.  or that the cake I had promised  he was going to help me with was going to be postponed. This day was meant to happen, Alhamdulillah!!!! My son was pretty good later that morning and soon followed me around to see that today was going to be busy in other ways. Change of routine for a child is not easy to accept but we found other things to keep us occupied with. Our all time favorite was when we started going through clothes that no longer fit him and we decided to sack it and give it to the mosque. There were so many moments today that were meant to happen. Generosity, thoughtfulness and being grateful are among the terms I could say described our day. Overall,

This is by the Grace of my Lord-to test me whether I am grateful or ungrateful! And whoever is grateful, truly, his gratitude is for himself; and whoever is ungrateful, (it is for the loss of only himself). Certainly my Lord is Rich, Bountiful.” (27:40)

To expect the unexpected was one that proved that circumstances can teach us moments that are of benefit.

Leave a Reply

