What Do You Want From Life?

 liquid gold

The title of my blog was inspired from a lecture I heard last night. The answer to this question can be answered in many ways depending on the individual’s interests and desires. We all want things everyday for our personal success; whether it be to find a better job, go back to school, take a trip when we get our first vacation time at work, having a baby, or learning a new language and the list varies for each individual. Our lists can be sorted by categories and some vary more on materialistic things vs. individual wants.  What do you want from life? My answer is simple, being able to see with my eyes the things that Allah has created for me to enjoy, being able to hear the things that are good for me and subtract that which is not of benefit, being able to touch the things that are made available for me to see, understand and remember that there could be someone else who may not have the same advantage as some of us do to use our senses in the way Allah has created and allowed us.  Life is something that Allah has lend us and to be thankful for it is what we should get up every morning doing. We do live in competitive times and we get caught up with all the mumble jumble of what is going on in the world of Hollywood when we pick up one of those magazines at the grocery store to just “kill time” while we “patiently” wait our turn to check out. The fact of the matter is that what I want from life may not be the same as what you want from  life.  Furthermore, our beloved Prophet (sallallahu `alaihi wa sallam) said:

“None of you truly believes until he likes for his brother what he likes for himself” [Agreed upon]

I hope that you find the time to listen to the lecture.

“What Do You Want From Life?”      http://adly.net/ibrahimdremali/index.htm

2 responses to this post.

  1. Assalaamu Alaikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuhu sister!

    Wow, Mash’Allah! I came here and now your blog is SO BRIGHT! 🙂

    I loved that lecture last night. He is always so profound and his lectures always leave me with tears.

    I encourage everyone to listen to the lecture. When you click the link choose “General Lectures”* Then click “What do you want from Life”.

    Reply

  2. Posted by ummabdurrahman on July 11, 2007 at 10:15 pm

    As Salaamu ALaikum Sis:

    Yes, I have always enjoyed listening to Sheikh Ibrahim’s lectures. He always leaves a message to ponder. On another note, please give me your opinion if the blog is too bright and if so I can make some different changes.

    Jazak Allahu Khair

    Reply

Leave a Reply

