Sisterhood

                   51.jpg                                             

As women, we wear so many hats- mother, daughter, wife, aunt, sister and the list could continue. Each word represents an essential meaning and purpose for which our families and friends identify their relationships with us. A mother wipes a tear, cooks a meal, reads a book, heals a cut and our duties are endless. A daughter reaches out to her parents in times of health, happiness and even hardships. We never turn our backs on them. A wife is a role that many of us can feel is like switching gears as one does when driving a standard car through the city. The duty to her husband is done with much “patience” and sometimes our mood may depict how our day of communication will go with him. An aunt listens attentively like a mother comforts her child when there is sibling rivalry. I often call an aunt the referee of the family or a mother’s backup support. Finally, the sister who represents a unique link in her relationship with the ones she has learned to share things with, make sacrifices for while witnessing sibling disputes, or compromising events which can sometimes lead to not always being so favorable are just a few of my own experiences as a sister. Today, I have decided to entitle my blog sisterhood. I have only one sister and even though distance may seperate us, I still think that our relationship has been unique. Looking back, I remember that hot and humid summer as I was driving back on the freeway from a day that marked a spiritual uplift. That day was the decision I had taken to become a Muslim. After having taken shahada and driving back home on the highway, I was so nervous to see the reaction of what my sister would think about me. Believe me, it was not pleasant. She glared at me as I sat in front of her and all she remarked was, “are you having some identity crisis.” Well, the rest of the conversation has been burried for so long but that day would depict who my sister really was. She seemed not to accept and respect me for who I was becasue I started praying differently, my wardrobe changed the look of my closet and the Quran was going to replace my Catholic bible whilethe rosary and crucifix that hung above my bed was coming down. My sister rather decided to scold me and be so blind to hearing or feeling the joy that I had to share. I was misunderstood from that day on. I was distraught and so out of place for a long time with her. Did I decide to cut the ties of kinship? I did for feeling uncomfortable with the end result of our differences of opinion. For sometime now, we have tried through the request of my brother to come back together. I have always believed that one should never live in their past and move on. So, we did meet and she was apologetic for having offended a decision that I took. The moment was one that you get to experience when you go away for a long trip and then come back to recieve a warm welcome and memorable surprises. It was a change of attitude I had recieved from her smile and hug. My decision to embrace Islam was for what I believed it represented- crystal clear understanding that it would redefine my life. Thus, the true word of sisterhood is so significant to me because it is a feeling of belonging to a group of women who accept you for who you are and encourage you to develop into who you want to become. Islam has given me more than an understanding of a religion but it has entitled me to expand beyond ethnic group ,color or demographic location to feel a connection with other Muslim women who have made me feel part of a family. This unity of sisterhood is one of sharing some common thoughts, feelings, religious perspectives according to the teachings of the Quran and sunnah. My sisterhood has encouraged me in all that is pleasing to Allah. I want for my Muslim sister what I want for myself. I feel that if I were to meet another Muslim sister on the street that the greeting of “As Salaamu Alaikum” which we would exchange with one another would result in union and common grounds to begin a conversation. Sisterhood in Islam is an invitation to celebrate that as Muslim women we stand together with our love, respect and commitment to being the best we can as examples of encouragement and direction towards our relgious convictions. “True sisterly love is a relationship whose purity is derived from the light of Islamic guidance (Dr. Muhammad A. al-Hashimi).

“The Believers are but a single brotherhood….” [Al-Hujuraat 49:10]

Today, my sister asked about Islam and I am jubilant for the moment we can have a conersation over a cup of coffee. Just as we extend our hand and our heart to a fellow Muslimah, I hope Insh’Allah I can extend my understanding and knowledge of Islam to my own sister. By having made Islam my primary identity it is my adherence to Islam that will serve as my representation on the Day of Resurrection.

My sisterhood is one that seeks out each other by integrating each other into each other’s lives, and making space for my sister-in-Islam regardless of her background. It is reported by al-Bukhari in al-Adab al-Mufrad that “The quickest prayer to be answered is a man’s supplication for his brother in his absence.”

I pray that when I meet with my sister, Insh’Allah that her interests in inquiring about Islam are in a different light now and that it will allow her to see through my experiences. Alhamdulillah, I play my role as Allah has created me!!

images31.jpg

One response to this post.

  1. Assalaamu Alaikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuhu sister,

    Mash’Allah, I’m glad that you have decided to try to work things out with your sister. May Allah make it easy for you and guide her to Islam. ameen.

    Beautiful post sister!

    Jazak Allahu Khairan

    Reply

Leave a Reply

