This Day….

0064-0503-0814-4510_tn1.jpg  My morning begins when a child’s voice is heard in the next room yelling “Mom, the sun is out and I want to go on my bike.” The summer will be a long one with school not being part of our daily schedule. So, I have decided on keeping myself busy with trying to find out more of my child’s interests.  His top two favorites are karate and soccer. Well, he will start karate soon, Insh’Allah in a group of 5 year olds. I am convinced that group play will be good for him.  Koran classes are available at the mosque and we hope that his age group has available space.  Will this be enough to keep a preschooler busy? I am sure with small chores around the house which usually become bigger for me  and online games and a visit to the library will just be some of the other activities that will be entertaining. In the meantime,  between running around and keeping things around the house “pretty organized” I am planning on focusing more in my understanding of Islam. Lately, I have felt a decline in how well my day goes when I can’t get reading planned around learning more about Islam.  Let’s face it, reading on my own can be a challenge. The phone rings, the clock shows that breakfast has come and gone and now it is time to prepare lunch. How can I combine all of this with just an hour or more of listening to more lectures or reading, writing, memorizing and talking about more hadeeths or surahs? A busy schedule is no excuse. A mother’s responsibilty to be able to meet a child’s needs is imperative but where is the mom’s needs to feel enlighten by new information. I have come to realize that there is always something lacking in reinforcing that what I already know about Islam. So, this is a new month and resoultions as commonly spoken about and planned out for the entire year can actually start to fade away after the first month. I plan for the beginning of each month to be one of building on to my faith. So, my resolutions will be kept simple and realistic.  This month I am seeking to refine my knowledge and understanding by making a consistent effort to read and ponder a new surah or hadeeth. Through learning something each day and writing it down my hope is with Allah that he will be a guide to every step that as a mother, sister in Islam, and wife can be to her family and that reflection can empower understanding and  knowledge that is needed to transfer information from one person to another. Insh’Allah, I will leave you with the following:

Narrated Ibn Masud: I heard the Prophet saying, “There is no envy except in two: a person whom Allah has given wealth and he spends it in the right way, and a person whom Allah has given wisdom (i.e. religious knowledge) and he gives his decisions accordingly and teaches it to the others.”  (Book #24, Hadith #490)

2 responses to this post.

  1. Assalaamu Alaikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuhu sister,

    mash’Allah great blog! May Allah reward you and bless you with knowledge for His sake. ameen.

    Reply

  2. Posted by carimuslima on July 6, 2007 at 7:45 pm

    Mashallah Sis this is great I LUV YOUR BLOG… I will check in regularly. Add me to that self-improvement program you are setting up. I’m in need of improving myself ;). I think that’s great keeping it simple and realistic. This is so true I couldn’t agree with you more. Muchos Abrazos 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

