Influence

paa1860000371.jpg   Can a person, a word, an idea, a conversation, or even a book have an impact on someone’s life? One can try to pursue to discover the true meaning of what he or she likes/dislikes, wants and needs or is there more to what is an “influence.”  According to the dictionary meaning, “influence can be a  power affecting a person, thing, or course of events, especially one that operates without any direct or apparent effort.”  It is obvious through reading someone else’s defintion that everything seems to be a factor of influence and indeed, we are, all of us, by people, places, events, and situations at all times. At times, we are affected more or less than others, but the fact of the matter is influence is something that we continue to experiene throughout our daily lives. Today, I have decided to expand on what I believe “influence” has represented in one facet of my life. There is no doubt that children are a blessing from Allah. The extensive wait that a mother goes through to deliver and the ongoing sacrifices of exerting all her energy to bring forth this creation of Allah has definitely been the highlight of my life. My little boy’s smile, words, actions, emotions, and conversations have been an influence in the way I see my life. My mother influenced me in more than one way. Today, as a mother I hope that the words that I use to deal with my child can be of influence to him. I often thought that he was not listening to me when he was playing and never looked up becasue he was so concentrated in completing his coloring. He never sustained eye contact with me and I allowed him to continue his work of art. After a while, he said to me “mommy I was doing this for you that is why I did not listen to you.” This picture reflected his feelings of family. He illustrated  a family of three smiling and a small house with a big door. I took this and asked him to explain to me what this picture is. “Momma, its you, baba, me and our house is small with a big door.” I could interpret this as a picture that influenced his life growing up and recognizing through his way that family is important to him. Granted, children are children and can have  temperaments that are roller coasters, not to mention adults as well. However, looking past this I learned that a child’s drawing can seek to communicate a desire to influence a mother’s heart.  Today, I would like to begin the first of what I hope to continue writing on how influence is such an important part of gaining support, inspiring others, and making connections with those near and far.  Insh’Allah.
“And your Lord has commanded that you worship none but Him and that you be kind to parents. If either or both of them reach old age with you, do not say to them (so much as) ‘Uff!’ nor chide them but address them in terms of honour, and out of kindness lower to them your wing of humility and say, ‘My Lord and Sustainer, have mercy on them both as they nurtured, cherished and sustained me in childhood.” (17:23-24)

Can you think of times where you have influenced the people in your life?

2 responses to this post.

  1. Asalaamu Alaikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuhu sister,

    Thanks for the reminder! Mash’Allah what a beautiful experience you shared here!

    I think as Muslims, we influence people without even being aware. Just seeing a woman covered walking down the street may inspire someone to learn about Islam. To hear a Muslim woman speak intelligently and without fear may misspell the myth that Muslim women are weak and oppressed. Mash’Allah so many opportunities for us. I don’t think we will ever truly know how many people we have influenced just through our actions. 🙂

    Great blog! Can’t wait to read more!

    Reply

  2. Posted by carimuslima on July 6, 2007 at 7:57 pm

    Mashallah I too think we are usually influenced by many things in our lives. Kids I think are great with this 6th sense of influence. They watch adults and the things around them like narrators telling a story. The best part is when they bring it into color in their pictures. A painting can tell a lot and children’s especially. It reflects their lives and surroundings. One of the tools used by child psychologists. You know one incident that I can remember that influenced someone was a girl I met at during my early days of accepting Islam. She was already Muslim and she recognized me from when I worked at a lingerie store. She said if I was that Muslim girl who covered in the store. I told her yes, and she said she had been researching Islam and really was touched to see that I was working and in hijab, she then told me that Mashallah (still get goose bumps at this part 😉 )after she had seen me that day she decided to say her shahada. I never knew her till that day after the halaqa at the mosque when we walked down the stairs. It’s amazing how just wearing our hijab we influence people’s lives without even knowing it. I really am grateful to Allah that he allowed me to meet this Muslim sister who a few weeks before needed that encouragement and “influence” to take that leap of faith. Mashallah Alhamdulilah. Thanx for sharing this post with us. Its very inspirational. Jazak Allah Khairan. Hugs 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

